If you see an asterisk next to a link, that means it's an administrator only link. Only people with administrator accounts will be able to access those site functions. People who do not have administrator access will not see those links or even know they exsist. Generally, only the person who opens the account has administrator access. However, if you would like to enable other accounts with administrative access, you can.